The domain is for sale!
contact: craig AT

Schedules of Indian Constitution

jinspjinc's version from 2013-04-03 02:18


Question Answer
First Schedule (Articles 1 and 4)This lists the states and territories of India, lists any changes to their borders and the laws used to make that change.
Second ScheduleThis lists the salaries of officials holding public office, judges, and Comptroller and Auditor General of India.
Third ScheduleForms of Oaths – This lists the oaths of offices for elected officials and judges.
Fourth ScheduleThis details the allocation of seats in the Rajya Sabha (the upper house of Parliament) per State or Union Territory.
Fifth ScheduleThis provides for the administration and control of Scheduled Areas[Note 2] and Scheduled Tribes[Note 3] (areas and tribes needing special protection due to disadvantageous conditions).
Sixth ScheduleProvisions for the administration of tribal areas in Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Mizoram.
Seventh ScheduleThe union (central government), state, and concurrent lists of responsibilities.
Eighth ScheduleThe official languages.
Ninth ScheduleOriginally Articles mentioned here were immune from judicial review on the ground that they violated fundamental rights. but in a landmark judgement in 2007, the Supreme Court of India held in I.R. Coelho v. State of Tamil Nadu and others that laws included in the 9th schedule can be subject to judicial review if they voilated the fundamental rights guaranteed under Article 14, 15, 19, 21 or the basic structure of the Constitution {(ambiguous)}[20]
Tenth Schedule"Anti-defection" provisions for Members of Parliament and Members of the State Legislatures.
Eleventh SchedulePanchayat Raj (rural local government).
Twelfth ScheduleMunicipalities (urban local government).