Create
Learn
Share

Profile Quickstart

rename
Updated 2009-07-23 05:44

In a nutshell...

You get to your version of 'Profile' by clicking the 'Profile' link (at the top of the page). It lists the pages you've edited and created. You can optionally add other stuff to it, including:

 

favorite pages
users (and their recent edits)
suggestions to promote a version (to become the main version)

 

Favorite Pages

To add a page to your profile page as a favorite, go to the page and click the link next to the heart icon on the right. After you've added it, it will appear on your profile page under Favorites.

Following users

To keep up with tables and pages created by your friends and colleagues (or any other users) go to their profile page and click 'user' (under 'this page' on the right) and then click the uppermost link. A link to their profile page and a dynamic list of their recent edits will be added to your profile page under Following.

Suggesting as main

You can alert us that a version is good, and should be promoted to the main version. Go to a version and click 'page' (under 'this page' on the right) and then suggest as main. Your suggestion will be added to your profile page under Suggested as main version. Usually, whithin a few days, the version will then be promoted to be the main version. See Promoting Quickstart for more details.

Judging versions

You can alert us that a version is bad, and should be deleted or made less visible. It will not be listed on your profile page, but we describe how to do so here for completeness. Go to a version and click 'page' (under 'this page' on the right) and then either spam, or archive. The page will usually then be deleted or archived within a few days.

Spam protection

To discourage spam, profile pages are hidden from search engines.