Important Organizations

sumit6789's version from 2015-09-01 11:43


Question Answer
1. United Nation (UN)is an intergovernmental organization established on 24 October 1945 to promote international co- operation.Headquarter – New York , Head – Ban ki-moon Member - South Sudan new member country . Total– 193 members
2. WTO (World Trade Org.) Kazakhstan new member country. Total – 162 members.Headquarter – Geneva, Switzerland, Head - Roberto Azevêdo
3. World Bank The World Bank is a United Nations international financial institution that provides loans to developing countries for capital programs.Headquarter - Washington D.C. (United States) President –Jim Yong Kim.Member - South Sudan new member country. Total– 188 members
4. IMF The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an international organization that was initiated in 1944 at the Bretton Woods Conference and formally created in 1945 by 29 member countries.Headquarter – Washington DC . (United States) President –Christine Lagarde.Member - South Sudan new member country. Total– 188 members
5. European UnionCroatia new member country. Total– 28 member countries.Headquarter – Brussels, Belgium.President of the European Commission: Jean-Claude Juncker
6. Eurozone The growth of the eurozone is an ongoing process within the European Union (EU). All Member states of the European Union, except for Denmark and the United Kingdom are obliged to adopt the euro as their sole currency once they meet the criteria.Member – The eurozone currently comprise 19 EU states. Note: i). Latvia becomes the 18th Member State to adopt the euro on 1 January 2014.ii. Lithuania has been approved for euro adoption on 1 January 2015.
7. ASEANAssociation of Southeast Asian Nations is a political and economic organisation of ten countries located in Southeast Asia, which was formed on 8 August 1967. Headquarter – Jakarta, Indonesia Member - 10 member countries (India is not the member of ASEAN)
8. APEC Asia – Pacific Economic Cooperation is a forum for 21 Pacific Rim member economies that seeks to promote free trade and economic cooperation throughout the Asia-Pacific region. It was established in 1989.Headquarter – Singapore Member – 21
9. OPEC (Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries) is an international organization and economic cartel whose mission is to coordinate the policies of the oil- producing countries.Headquarter – Vienna, Austria , Member - 12 member countries.President - Diezani Alison-Madueke
10. NATO (North Atlantic treaty Organization) NATO‘s essential purpose is to safeguard the freedom and security of its members through political and military means. Headquarter – Brussels, Belgium Member – 28 Member Countries.
11. SAARC (South Asian Association of Regional Co- Operation) is an economic and geopolitical organization of eight countries that are primarily located in South Asia or the Indian subcontinent.Headquarter – Kathmandu, Nepal – 8 Member Countries. Secretary-General: Arjun Bahadur Thapa.
12. ICJ (International Court of Justice) is the primary judicial branch of the United Nations. It is based in the Peace Palace in The Hague, Netherlands. Its main functions are to settle legal disputes submitted to it by states and to provide advisory opinions on legal questions submitted to it by duly authorized international branches, agencies, and the UN General Assembly.Headquarter The Hague, Netherlands

Recent badges