Governers and Events

gahlawat1987's version from 2017-06-12 08:54



Question Answer
Warren Hastings 1773-1785The Regulating Act 1773 and Pitts India Act, 1784
Warren Hastings 1773-1785codification of Hindu and Muslim laws
Warren Hastings 1773-1785Trial of Nandkumar and Raja Chait Singh of Banaras
Warren Hastings 1773-1785First and second Anglo-Maratha wars
Warren Hastings 1773-1785Second Anglo-Mysore war
Warren Hastings 1773-1785Abolition of Dual System and quinquennial settlement of land revenue
Warren Hastings 1773-1785foundation of Madarasa Aaliya (1781) and Asiatic Society (1784)
Warren Hastings 1773-1785Supreme Court at Calcutta
Warren Hastings 1773-1785English Translation of Bhagwat Gita
Earl Cornwallis 1786-1793Established lower courts and appellate courts
Earl Cornwallis 1786-1793Sanskrit College established by Jonathan Duncan
Earl Cornwallis 1786-1793Permanent Settlement in Bihar and Bengal in 1793
Earl Cornwallis 1786-1793Introduction of Cornwallis Code
Earl Cornwallis 1786-1793Introduction of Civil Services in India
Marquess Wellesley 1798-1805Introduction of Subsidiary Alliance
Marquess Wellesley 1798-1805Fourth Anglo-Mysore War 1799
Marquess Wellesley 1798-1805Fort William College at Calcutta
Marquess Wellesley 1798-1805Formation of Madras Presidency in 1801
Holt MackenzieMahalwari system
Lord William Bentinck 1828- 1833Charter Act 1833
Lord William Bentinck 1828- 1833non-intervention in nonaggression with Indian states
Lord William Bentinck 1828- 1833introduction of local languages in the lower courts
Lord William Bentinck 1828- 1833abolition of Sati, Thug, Female Foticide
Lord William Bentinck 1828- 1833Setting up of Macaulay committee
Lord William Bentinck 1828- 1833Calcutta Medical College
Marquess of Dalhousie 1848-1856Doctrine of Lapse
Marquess of Dalhousie 1848-1856 Charles Wood Dispatch, for reforms in education system
Marquess of Dalhousie 1848-1856 1st Railway line connecting Bombay and Thane
Marquess of Dalhousie 1848-1856 Post Office Act, 1854
Marquess of Dalhousie 1848-1856 Established Public Works Department - Ganga Canal
Marquess of Dalhousie 1848-1856 Engineering College was established at Roorkee
Marquess of Dalhousie 1848-1856 Widow Reform Act 1956
Marquess of Dalhousie 1848-1856 Telegraph Line from calcutta to agra
Viscount Canning 1856-1858University of Bombay, Calcutta and Madras were set up in 1857
Viscount Canning 1856-1858 The revolt of 1857
Viscount Canning 1856-1858 The Government of India Act, 1858
Viscount Canning 1856-1858 Withdrew Doctrine of Lapse
Earl of Mayo 1869-1872Started the process of financial decentralization in India.
Earl of Mayo 1869-1872 For the first time in Indian history, a census was held in 1871.
Earl of Mayo 1869-1872 Organised the Statistical Survey of India
Earl of Mayo 1869-1872 Was the only Viceroy to be murdered in office by a Pathan convict in the Andamans in 1872
Lord Lytton 1876-1880Known as the Viceroy to reverse characters.
Lord Lytton 1876-1880Organised the Grand ‘Delhi Durbar’ in 1877 to decorate Queen Victoria with the title of ‘Kaiser I Hind’.
Lord Lytton 1876-1880Arms act (1878) made it mandatory for Indians to acquire license for arms.
Lord Lytton 1876-1880Passed the infamous Vernacular Press act (1878).
Marquess of Ripon 1880-1884Liberal person, who sympathized with Indians
Marquess of Ripon 1880-1884 Repeated the Vernacular Press act (1882)
Marquess of Ripon 1880-1884 Passed the local self government act (1882)
Marquess of Ripon 1880-1884 Took steps to improve primary & secondary education (on William Hunter Commission’s recommendations).
Marquess of Ripon 1880-1884 The I Factory act, 1881, aimed at prohibiting child labour.
Marquess of Ripon 1880-1884 Passed the libert Bill (1883) which enabled Indian district magistrates to try European criminals. But this was withdrawn later.
The Marquess of Lansdowne 1888-1894Appointment of Durand Commission to define the line between British India and Afghanistan.
Lord Curzon 1899-1905Famine of 1899-1900 {Chappania Akal}
Lord Curzon 1899-1905Appointment of Famine Commission {under Sir Anthony McDonnell}
Lord Curzon 1899-1905Commission on Irrigation {under Colin Scott Moncrieff}
Lord Curzon 1899-1905Police Commission {under Andrew Frazer}
Lord Curzon 1899-1905Education Commission {aka Raleigh Commission}
Lord Curzon 1899-1905enactment of Indian Universities Act, 1904
Lord Curzon 1899-1905Land Resolution of 1902
Lord Curzon 1899-1905Punjab Land Alienation Act 1900
Lord Curzon 1899-1905Establishment of Imperial Departments of Agriculture and Commerce, Industry
Lord Curzon 1899-1905Indian Coinage and Paper Currency Act, 1899
Lord Curzon 1899-1905establishment of a training college for army officers at Quetta
Lord Curzon 1899-1905Calcutta Corporation Act, 1899
Lord Curzon 1899-1905Ancient Monuments Protection Act, 1904
Lord Curzon 1899-1905Military expedition to Tibet
Lord Curzon 1899-1905Occupation of Chumby Valley
Lord Curzon 1899-1905the most hated Partition of Bengal
Lord Minto 1905-1910enactment of Newspapers (Incitement to offences) Act, 1908
Lord Minto 1905-1910Explosive Substances Act
Lord Minto 1905-1910Deportation of Lala Lajpat Rai and Ajit Singh to Mandalay Jail (1907)
Lord Minto 1905-1910Surat Split (1907)
Lord Minto 1905-1910Trial of Bal Gangadhar Tilak (1908)
Lord Minto 1905-1910Foundation of the Indian Muslim League (1906)
Lord Minto 1905-1910Indian Council Act of 1909 (Moreley-Minto Reforms)
Lord Minto 1905-1910establishment of Indian Home Rule Society in England by Shyamji Verma
Lord Minto 1905-1910Murder of Col. William Wyllie by Madan Lal Dhingra (1909)
Lord Minto 1905-1910Assassination of Jackson
Lord Minto 1905-1910the Magistrate of Nasik and Ahmadabad Bomb case (1909)
The Lord Chelmsford 1916-1921August Declaration of 1917, whereby control over the Indian government would be gradually transferred to the Indian people.
The Lord Chelmsford 1916-1921The government of India act in 1919 (Montague Chelmsford reforms) was passed.
The Lord Chelmsford 1916-1921Rowlatt act of 1919; Jallianwala Bagh Massacre (April 13, 1919).
The Lord Chelmsford 1916-1921Non Cooperation Movement.
The Lord Chelmsford 1916-1921An Indian Sir S.P.Sinha was appointed the Governor of Bengal.
The Lord Chelmsford 1916-1921A Women’s university was founded at Poona in 1916.
The Lord Chelmsford 1916-1921Saddler Commission was appointed in 1917 to envisage new educational policy.
The Lord Irwin 1926-1931Simon Commission visited India in 1928.
The Lord Irwin 1926-1931Congress passed the Indian Resolution in 1929.
The Lord Irwin 1926-1931Dandi March (March 12, 1930).
The Lord Irwin 1926-1931Civil Disobedience Movement (1930).
The Lord Irwin 1926-1931First Round Table Conference held in England in 1930.
The Lord Irwin 1926-1931Gandhi Irwin Pact (March 5, 1931) was signed and Civil Disobediance Movement was withdrawn.
The Lord Irwin 1926-1931Martydorm of Jatin Das after 64 days hunger strike (1929).