The California Compulsory Financial Responsibility Law requires every driver and every owner of a motor vehicle to maintain financial responsibility (liability coverage) at all times. List the four forms of financial responsibility?
1) a motor vehicle liability insurance policy 2) a deposit of $35,000 in the DMV 3) a surety bond of $35,000 obtained from a company licensed to do business in California 4) a DMV issued self-insurance certificate
You must possess evidence of financial responsibility whenever you do what? You must show it to a peace officer after either of two scenarios happens? What will happen if you do not comply with the law?
1) drive 2) traffic stop or collision 3) pay a fine or have your vehicle impounded
The law states that you must be financially responsible whenever you drive and for all motor vehicles you own. What do most drivers choose to have a sproof of financial responsibility?
If you have a collision not covered by your insurance or you do not have insurance, what will happen?
your driver license will be suspended
If the driver is not identify, the owner of the vehicle involved in the collision will have what?
his or her driver license suspended
What is the minimum amount your insurance must cover per collision as follows = $_______ for a single death or injury. $_____ for death or injury to more than one person. $_____ for property damage?
$15,000; $30,000; $5000
Low cost automobile policies are available in what California counties?
Alameda, Contra Costa, Fresno, Imperial, Kern, Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, Sacramento, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Stanislaus
What number should you call before you purchase insurance to confirm that your agent/broker and insurer are licensed by the California Department of Insurance?
If you are visiting California or have just moved here, be aware that all out-of-state insurance companies are authorized to do business in California. Before you drive here, do what?
ask your insurance company if you are covered in case of a collision
If you have a collision in California, all three of the following conditions must be met to avoid the suspension of your driving privilege?
1) your liability policy must provide bodily injury and property damage coverage which equals or exceeds the required limits stated above 2) your insurance company must file a power of attorney allowing the DMV to act as its agent for legal service in California 3) you muist insure the vehicle before you come to California. You cannot renew the out-of-sate policy once the vehicle is registered in California
COLLISIONS ON YOUR RECORD:
THe DMV retains information on every collision reported to the DMV by who?
1) law enforcement, unless the reporting office state another person is at fault 2) you or another party involved in the collision, if any one person has over $750 in damage, or if anyone is injured or dies
It does not matter who caused the collision, the DMV must keep this ____?
COLLISIONS, INSURANCE, AND MINORS:
If the driver is under 18 years of age, who must sign the dirver license application and assum financial responsibility? When one reaches the age of ____, the parents or guardians liability automatically ends?
1) parents or guardians 2) 18
If you are < 18 and involved in a collision, your parents or guardians may be liable for ____ damages and you may also be fined?
Can parents or guardians cancel your drivers license at any time while you are a minor?
GETTING A TICKET:
If you are stopped by a peace officer and cited for a traffic law violation, what must you sign? When you go to court, you may plead what OR do what?
1) sign a promise to appear in traffic court 2) plead guilty or not guilty OR you may forfeit (pay) the citation fine
Paying the fine is the same as a ______ plea?
If you ignore the traffic ticket and do not keep your promise to appear in court, what is this called and does it go on your driver's record?
FTA (failure to appear); yes
If you fail to pay a fine (FTP), the court will notify the ____ and will this show on your driver's record also?
Can even one FTA or FTP cause the DMV to suspend your driver's license?
To end the suspension, how much will it cause for a license reissue fee?
Each time you are convicted for a moving traffic law violation, what happens in regards to the DMV?
the court notifies the DMV and the conviction is placed on your driver license record
Are convictions reported by other states also added to your driver record?
EVADING A PEACE OFFICER:
Evading a peace officer means what will happen to you?
guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than 1 year
If a person is convicted of causing serious bodily injury during the course of a police pursuit, he is subject to what?
1) imprisonment in a state prison for 3, 5 , 7 years OR in a county jail for not more than 1 year 2) a fine that is not less than $2000 or more than $10,000 3) both fine and imprisonment
When a person is convicted of manslaughter resulting from evading police during a pursuit, he or she is subject to imprisonment in a state prison for a minimum of ___ to _________ years ?
POINTS ON THE DRIVER RECORD:
The DMV keeps public record of all traffic conviction and collisions. Each occurrence stays on records for ____ months or longer depending on the type of conviction?
The Negligent Operator Treatment System (NOTS) is based on what?
negligent operator points and consists of a computer generated series of warning letters and progressive sanctions against driving privilege
You may be considered a negligent operator, when your driving record shows one of the following "point counts" = ____ points in 12 months; ____ points in 24 months; ___ points in 36 months?
4; 6; 8
Some examples of one-point violations?
1) traffic convictions 2) at-fault collisions
Some examples of two-point violations?
1) reckless driving or hit-and -run driving 2) driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol/drugs 3) driving while driver license is suspended or revoked
If you get 4 points in 12 months, what happens?
you lose your driver license
A violation received in a commercial vehicle carries ___ times the point count normally assessed?
TRAFFIC VIOLATOR SCHOOL CONVICTIONS:
When a driver is cited for one point traffic violation, the judge may offer the driver what?
Traffic Violator School
Drivers who do not have a commercial driver license may participate once in any ____ month period to have a citation masked from their driving records?
Completion of the course is reported _____ to the court by the school?
Paper completion certificates are no longer used for reporting, however, the student receives what?
When a commercial driver is cited in a noncommercial vehicle, the driver may be eligible to attend traffic school, true or false?
SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION BY THE DMV:
If you get too many negligent driver points, the DMV will place you on probation for ___ year (which includes a ___ month suspension) or revoke your driving privilege?
Your suspension or revocation order informs you of what?
your right to a hearing
At the end of the suspension or revocation period, you may apply for a new drivers license and must show proof of what?
What will the DMV do if you are convicted of a hit-and-run or reckless driving that results in injury?
revoke your drivers license
SUSPENSION BY A JUDGE:
A judge may suspend a person's drivers license if the driver is convicted of one of the 7 scenarios?
1) breaking speed laws or reckless driving 2) driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs 3) hit-and-run 4) engaging in lewd conduct and prostitution in a vehicle within 1000 feet of a residence 5) assaulting a driver, passenger, bicyclist, or pedestrian when the offense occurs on a highway (road rage) 6) failure to stop as required at a rail way grade crossing 7)felony or misdemeanor offense of recklessly fleeing a law enforcement officer
Regardless of point count, many serious offenses in which a vehicle is used carry heavy penalties such as what?
findes and/or imprisonment
If you sue your vehicle as a weapon, what will happen to your driver license?
it will be revoked
Most information on your driver license is available to who?
Your residence address may only be viewed by who, and what is less restricted?
1) authorized agents 2) mailing address
Records on what conditions of a driver remains confidential?
physical or mental condition
You may obtain a copy of your driving record at any DMV office for a ____ with valid identification?
VANDALISM/GRAFFITI - ALL AGES:
Courts can suspend the driver license up to ___ years for a person convicted of engaging in vandalism (including graffiti)?
If you are convicted and do not have a driver license, what can the court do? it can delay the issuance of your driver license up to 3 years from the date you are legally eligible to drive
SPEED CONTESTS / RECKLESS DRIVING:
A person convicted of driving recklessly or engaging in a speed contest which causes bodily injury to another person is subject to what?
1) imprisonment in a county jail or state prison for a minimum of 30 days to 6 months 2) a fine ranging from $220 - $1000 OR 3) both a fine and imprisonment
The court will do what?
1) suspend or revoke the driving privilege of any minor convicted of possessing a concealable weapon or live ammunition OR 2) impose driver license sanctions for minors convicted for misdemeanors involving firearms
When you purchase a new or used vehicle from a licensed California dealer, the dealer collects _____ tax fees to register and title the vehicle?
The use tax is forwarded to where?
The Board of Equalization
The transfer and registration fees and documents are submitted to the DMV which gives you what?
temporary operating authority
Usually within _________ to ___ weeks after the purchase date, you will receive a registration card, license plates, stickers and a Certificate of Title?
If the dealer participates in the _______ program, the dealer or their registration service will process the DMV documents and issue you the above?
BPA (Business Partner Automation)
If you obtain or purchase a vehicle from a private party, you must transfer the ownership within ____ days and submit what 5 things to the DMV?
10; 1) properly endorsed and completed Application for Duplicate or Paperless Title 2) smog certification, if required 3) use tax payment, if required 4) odometer mileage disclosure statement, if applicable 5) appropriate vehicle registration fees
When you sell or transfer a vehicle, report it to the DMV within ___ days. You can complete what form by downloading and sending it?
5; Notice of Transfer and Release of Liability form
Vehicles registered in another state or foreign county must be registered in California within ____ days after you become a resident or get a job?
If you are a California resident and acquire a new care, truck or motorcycle (includes certain diesel-powered vehicles) from another state, ensure that it meets California ____ laws; otherwise, it might not qualify to be registered in CA?
The DMV can't accept an application to register the vehicle in CA when the vehicles does not ____ for registration?
Nonresident personnel and their spouses may operate their vehicles in CA with their valid home stage _____ _____ or until the plates issued from the state of their last assigned duty station expire?
The may renew the registration in their home state before it expires or do what?
register the vehicle in California
The items needed to register any out-of-state vehicle are?
1) completed and signed Application for Title or Registration 2) verification of the vehicle completed by the DMV, law enforcement agent, or an auto club employee 3) out-of-state title and/or last issued out-of-state registration card, if the title is not submitted 4) smog certification, if required 5) weight certificate for commercial vehicles only 6) appropriate vehicle registration fees and use tax, if applicable 7) complete Odometer Mileage Disclosure Statement, if applicable
If the vehicle is purchased from a dealer enrolled in the BPA program, what must be submitted by the dealer to the DMV?
VEHICLE THEFT PREVENTION TIPS:
A vehicle is stolen an average of ___ minutes in the US?
Vehicle thefts increase _____ premiums?
Vehicle thefts occur more often in what areas?
where large groups of cars are parked at any time of the day for extended periods of time (shopping centers, colleges, sporting events, movie complexes, large apartment complexes)
Never leave (5)?
1) your vehicle running and unattended, even to dash into store 2) the keys in the ignition 3) keys inside a locked garage or a hide-a-key box 4) valuables such as purses, laptops in plain view even if the vehicle is locked. Place them out of sight 5) personal identification documents (ownership title or credit cards)
1) roll up your windows and lock your vehicle even if it is parked in front of your house 2) park in high traffic, well-lighted areas whenever possible 3) immediate report a stolen vehicle to the police
1) install a mechanical device that locks the steering wheel, column, or brakes 2) think about purchasing a vehicle theft tracking/security system, especially if you own one of the frequently stolen model vehicles 3) when you must leave your key with a valet, attendant or mechanic, only leave the ignition key 4) copy your license plate and vehicle information on a card and keep that information with you and not in the car. The police will need this information if you vehicle is stolen.
Pages linking here (main versions and versions by same user)