Awards and Honours

sumit6789's version from 2016-08-30 17:52


Question Answer
Bourlog Award Agriculture
Academy (Oscar) Award Film
Dada Saheb Phalke Award Film
Bharat Ratna It is the premier civilian award, to serve the nation.For outstanding contributions in the field of Art/Literature/ Science and Public Service
Ramon Magasaysay Award Government (Public) Service, Social Service, Journalism, Literature, Communication and International Understanding
Shankar Award Indian Philosophy, Culture and Art
Pulitzer Prize Journalism and Literature
Man Booker Prize Literature
Jnanpith Award Literature
Saraswati Samman Literature
Vyasa Samman Literature
Dhanwantari Award Medical Science
Grammy AwardMusic
Noble Prize Peace, Literature, Medicine, Physics, Chemistry, Economics
Vachaspati Samman Sanskrit Literature
Kalinga Award Science
Bhatnagar Award Science
Karbir Samman Socio Communal Harmony
Arjuna Award Sports
International Gandhi Peace Prize For contributions towards social, economic and political transformation through non-violence and other Gandhian methods.
Padma VibhushanRanking wise the second award is the Padma Vibhushan in the Indian Republic. It awarded people from various fields including Govt. service to distinguish extraordinary service for the country.
Padma BhushanThe Padma Bhushan is the highest civilian award third in rank in the Indian Republic.
Padma ShriIt is awarded to citizens of India for their distinguished contribution in several fields including Education, Literature, Arts, Science, Industry, Social Service, Medicine, Sports and Public Affairs.
Dronacharya AwardFor brilliance in sports coaching. Dhyan Chand Award: Highest lifetime achievement award in sports and games in India
Rajiv Gandhi Khel RatnaHighest honor given for accomplishment in sports.
Bowelay Agriculture
Dhanwantri Medical Science
Abel Maths
Merlin Magic

Literary Awards

Question Answer
Jnanpith AwardThe Jnanpith Award is an Indian literary award presented annually by the Bharatiya Jnanpith to an author for their "outstanding contribution towards literature".
Vyas Samman For literary in the Hindi language. It is awarded annually by the K.K. Birla Foundation and includes a cash payout of Rs 250,000 (as of 2005).To be eligible for the award, the literary work must be in the Hindi language and have been published in the past 10 years.
Saraswati SammanFor outstanding prose or poetry literary works in any Indian language listed in Schedule VIII of the Constitution of India.

Wartime awards

Question Answer
Param Vir ChakraThe Param Vir Chakra (PVC) is India's highest military decoration awarded for the highest degree of valour or self-sacrifice in the presence of the enemy. The medal has been awarded 21 times, 14 of which were posthumous awards.
Maha Vir Chakra The Maha Vir Chakra (MVC) (literally great warrior medal) is the second highest military decoration in India, after the Param Vir Chakra, and is awarded for acts of conspicuous gallantry in the presence of the enemy, whether on land, at sea or in the air.
Vir ChakraIt is the third in the order of awards for acts of gallantry in the face of the enemy on land,sea or air.

Peacetime awards

Question Answer
Ashoka ChakraIndia's highest peacetime military decoration awarded for valor, courageous action or self-sacrifice away from the battlefield. It is the peace time equivalent of the Param Vir Chakra, and is awarded for the "most conspicuous bravery or some daring or pre-eminent valour or self-sacrifice" other than in the face of the enemy. The decoration may be awarded either to military or civilian personnel. It replaced the British George Cross.
Kirti ChakraThe Kirti Chakra is an Indian military decoration awarded for valour, courageous action or self-sacrifice away from the field of battle. It may be awarded to civilians as well as military personnel, including posthumous awards. It is the peacetime equivalent of the Maha Vir Chakra. It is second in order of precedence of peacetime gallantry awards.
Shaurya ChakraThe Shaurya Chakra is an Indian military decoration awarded for valour, courageous action or self-sacrifice while not engaged in direct action with the enemy. It may be awarded to civilians as well as military personnel, sometimes posthumously. It is the peacetime equivalent of the Vir Chakra. It is generally awarded for Counter-Insurgency operations and actions against the enemy during peace-time. It is third in order of precedence of peacetime gallantry awards and comes after the Ashoka Chakra and the Kirti Chakra.

Distinguished Service and Gallantry

Sena Medal (Army) Nao Sena Medal (Navy) Vayusena Medal (Air Force)
Sarvottam Yudh Seva Medal
Uttam Yudh Seva Medal
Yudh Seva Medal
Param Vishisht Seva Medal
Ati Vishisht Seva Medal
Vishisht Seva Medal

Recent badges