AQA GCSE Religious Studies Buddhism Key Terms

yayeguyu's version from 2017-11-18 12:58

Buddhist Terms


ahimsaNot killing. Respect for life, not being violent.
anattaNo self, no soul; the Universal Truth that the soul is insubstantial; that people change over their lives; denial of a real or permanent self.
aniccaImpermanence, instability, not permanent, etc.
BuddhaAn awakened or enlightened person.
dharmaUniversal law; ultimate truth; the teachings of Buddha.
DhammapadaA scripture of the Pali Canon with 426 verses.
dukkhaSuffering; ill; everything leads to suffering; unsatisfactoriness.
karmaLiterally ‘action’. Deliberate actions that affect the believer’s circumstances in this and future lives; cause and effect.
the Noble Eightfold PathThe way to wisdom; mental training and the way of morality.
the Five PreceptsTo not kill any living being, refrain from stealing, refrain from wrongful sexual activity, refrain from lying, refrain from taking drugs and alcohol that cloud the mind.
the Four Noble TruthsDukkha, Tanha, Nirodha, Magga (suffering, the cause of suffering, the end of suffering, the path to the end of suffering).
mettaLoving kindness. A pure love, which is not possessive and which does not seek to gain.
monk/nunA man/woman who lives within a religious community and has few, if any, possessions.
nirodhaThe end of suffering is to get rid of desire and craving (the Third Noble Truth).
nirvanaTo reach a state of perfect peace where the individual experiences liberation from the cycle of birth, death and rebirth.
samsaraThe circle of births, death and re-birth, which can be transcended by following the Noble Eightfold Path.
samathaMeditation; a state of calmness.
SanghaThe community or assembly, of monks, nuns, lay men and lay women, depending on the form of Buddhism practised.
Siddattha GotamaThe name of the historical Buddha.
sutraThe word of the Buddha.
tanhaDesire, which causes suffering. The attempt to grasp at the things we enjoy.
the Three Marks of ExistenceAnicca, Anatta, Dukkha.
the Three RefugesBuddha, Dhamma, Sangha.
TipitakaA collection of texts, the Vinaya, Sutta and Abhidamma. Literally means Three Baskets or Pali Canon.
vinayaThe rules of discipline of Buddhist monastic life.
vipashyanaInsight into the nature of things; meditation.