African National Congress timeline

scallamander's version from 2016-09-22 00:39


Question Answer
1902Second Boer war ends.
1910Union of South Africa formed, handing power to Afrikaners at the expense of the black majority.
1912A meeting of chiefs, churchmen and lawyers at the Waaihoek methodist church in Bloemfontein on 8 January heralds the birth of the South African Native National Congress. John Langalibalele Dube is the first president.
1913Natives Land Act effectively gives 80% of land to white people, who make up less than 20% of the population. It helps secure cheap labour for white-owned mines.
1914National party founded by Afrikaner nationalists in Bloemfontein.
1918Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela born in Mvezo in the Transkei on 18 July.
1923The SANNC is renamed the African National Congress (ANC).
1944ANC youth league founded with leaders including Nelson Mandela, Walter Sisulu and Oliver Tambo.


Question Answer
1948National party elected and introduces apartheid, a legal system of racial segregation. It will be described by prime minister Hendrik Verwoerd as a "policy of good neighbourliness".
1952ANC launches defiance campaign. Mandela is arrested.
1955Freedom Charter adopted at the Congress of the People at Kliptown. It declares "that South Africa belongs to all who live in it, black and white, and that no government can justly claim authority unless it is based on the will of all the people … The people shall govern!"
1956Mandela is arrested and joins 155 others on trial for treason. The trial lasts four-and-a-half years.
1959Africanists who object to the ANC's growing co-operation with white and Indian people break away to form the Pan Africanist Congress (PAC).
1960Police open fire on an unarmed crowd at a PAC demonstration against pass laws in Sharpeville, killing 69. A state of emergency is declared and the ANC and PAC are banned. The ANC president chief, Albert Luthuli, becomes the first African to win the Nobel peace prize.
1961ANC launches armed struggle with Mandela as commander-in-chief of its military wing, Umkhonto we Sizwe (MK), which means "Spear of the Nation". In 18 months MK carries out 200 acts of sabotage.
1962Mandela is arrested and sentenced to five years in prison for incitement and leaving the country illegally.
1963Police raid the secret headquarters of MK at Liliesleaf farm in Rivonia, arresting the leadership.
1964MK leaders, including Mandela, are sentenced to life imprisonment at the Rivonia trial. Mandela tells the court: "I have cherished the ideal of a democratic and free society in which all persons live together in harmony and with equal opportunities. It is an ideal which I hope to live for and to achieve. But if needs be, it is an ideal for which I am prepared to die."
1966Verwoerd assassinated in parliament.
1976Student uprising in Soweto leaves about 600 dead.
1990Ban lifted on the ANC and Mandela released, on 11 February, after 27 years in prison.
1993Mandela and FW De Klerk, the last apartheid president, are jointly awarded the Nobel peace prize.


Question Answer
1994ANC wins South Africa's first democratic elections, making Mandela the country's first black president.
1999Mandela steps down after one term. ANC wins second democratic election with Thabo Mbeki as president. MP Patricia de Lille presents a dossier containing numerous allegations of bribery relating to a 70bn rand (£5.44bn) arms deal.
2000Mbeki is criticised for a speech that appears to underplay the threat of HIV. Campaigners will accuse Mbeki of Aids "denialism" that costs hundreds of thousands of lives.
2003Winnie Mandela convicted of theft and fraud.
2004ANC re-elected.
2008Mbeki ousted at Polokwane conference and replaced by Kgalema Motlanthe as caretaker president.
2009Corruption allegations are dropped against Jacob Zuma. ANC re-elected with Zuma as president.